Switchfoot Biography

  • Switchfoot
    • Famous as : Alternative rock band
    • Birth Name : -
    • Birth Date : 1996
    • Birth Place : San Diego, California, USA
    • Spouse : -
    • Claim to Fame : Album "The Beautiful Letdown" (2003)

Switchfoot Bio, Life Story

the lineup, none other than guitarist/keyboardist Jerome Fontamillas (born on June 20, 1976 in the Philippines).

Undeniably received a portion of attention due to the initial achievement they had scored, Switchfoot in turn gained a promising chance to be involved in the soundtrack to "A Walk to Remember" which subsequently set the band up for a major-label run at Columbia Records not long after the release of the movie in 2002. Taking full advantage on the opportunity, the quartet made no delay to issue their fourth album "The Beautiful Letdown" on February 25, 2003. A piece of work marking the group's evolution from the predominantly lo-fi, indie rock sound toward a more layered, synth-influenced one, the LP fantastically drew more than a satisfying outcome in mainstream music scene, soaring to the top 20 of The Billboard 200 while ruling out Top Christian Albums chart to ultimately get certified double Platinum by the end of 2004.

Also gained considerable buzz from the record's two hit singles, "Meant to Live" and "Dare You to Move", which both secured positions in the top 20 of The Billboard Hot 100, it was not really surprising to then see Switchfoot strive as the Top Christian Artist on the Billboard Year-End Charts in the same year, a superb attainment that undoubtedly boosted the band's reputation nationwide. Despite the honor, however, all the members unanimously refused to consider themselves a Christian group, much to everyone's surprise. "For us, it's a faith, not a genre", Jon once remarked. "We've always been very open and honest about where the songs are coming from. For us, these songs are for everyone. Calling us 'Christian rock' tends to be a box that closes some people out and excludes them. And that's not what we're trying to do."

Status aside, Switchfoot ceaselessly continued to evoke people's amazement by the time they brought up their next effort "Nothing Is Sound" in September 2005, only four months after officially announcing Drew Shirley (born Andrew Phillip Shirley on April 3, 1976 in Puerto Rico), their additional guitarist since 2003, as the band's new member. Containing twelve songs, the album fared greater than its predecessor as it wonderfully debuted at #3 on The Billboard 200, in the meantime spawning a huge hit of "Stars" which managed to break the top 20 of three Billboard singles chart, notably that of Modern Rock Tracks. Another full-length work titled

Continue to page: 3

*/ if ($layoutType == 'mobile') { mb_bottomframe($kanal, $htmlfile, $brstatus); } ?>