Switchfoot Biography

  • Switchfoot
    • Famous as : Alternative rock band
    • Birth Name : -
    • Birth Date : 1996
    • Birth Place : San Diego, California, USA
    • Spouse : -
    • Claim to Fame : Album "The Beautiful Letdown" (2003)

Switchfoot Bio, Life Story

Seemingly reluctant to have even a little time of leisure as they welcome year 2007, Switchfoot indeed goes full force in maintaining their path on the road ahead. For February only, the band has already been plotted to hold continuous performances throughout the whole month, beginning with a handful of live gigs across European countries like Germany, Denmark, and England then around some cities in North America starting from date 13. Here venues will include those in San Francisco, Vancouver, Spokane, Calgary, and Eugene with Toronto being the last stop for the month. More U.S cities will be visited afterwards in March for the quintet is set to keep going onstage in Worcester, Providence, Hartford, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Cincinnati, Houston, and Los Angeles to name few.

A band bearing unique characteristic of combining thoughtful, inventive rock music with spiritually evocative and socially aware lyrics other fellow artists rarely embrace, Switchfoot first went under the name of Chin Up as the act took shape around year 1996 in San Diego, California. Originally a trio, it was formed by brothers Jon Foreman (born Jonathan Mark Foreman on October 22, 1976 in San Bernadino, California) and Tim Foreman (born Timothy David Foreman on August 15, 1978 in Lake Arrowhead, California) alongside their friend Chad Matthew Butler (born on March 24, 1974 in Amsterdam, the Netherlands). With Jon positioning himself on lead vocal also guitar, Tim becoming the bassist, and Chad assuming drummer role, the threesome was amazingly quick to make their way in the music circuit, only spending a year playing gigs before getting signed by Charlie Peacock to his re:think imprint, a division of Sparrow Records.

Worked hand in hand, it delightfully did not take a long time for the troupe to construct their debut effort in the same year, an album entitled "The Legend of Chin", using the moniker they are now popularly known as which was derived from a surfing term. The record later was followed by the release of two other LPs namely "New Way to Be Human" and "Learning to Breathe" in 1999 and 2000, respectively. Of the three, the latter proved to be the most successful one, reaching Gold status from RIAA, even landing a Grammy nod for Best Rock Gospel Album slot while being deemed Best Pop Album at San Diego Music Awards in 2001. By this time, the band had smoothly added one more member in

Continue to page: 2

*/ if ($layoutType == 'mobile') { mb_bottomframe($kanal, $htmlfile, $brstatus); } ?>