'Birdman', 'Gone Girl' Among Winners at Final Draft Awards

The screenwriters of the Michael Keaton-starring film are awarded with Best Original Screenplay trophy, while Gillian Flynn's 'Gone Girl' wins in Best Adapted Screenplay.

AceShowbiz - The 10th Final Draft Awards has announced winners in various categories. On Thursday, February 12, it was revealed that "Birdman" added another accolade into its growing list of awards. People behind the movie's screenplay, Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris and Armando Bo, were handed with the Best Original Screenplay trophy at the ceremony which took place at the Paramount Theatre in Los Angeles.

Another winner that night is Gillian Flynn for her "Gone Girl" screenplay. The author was honored with Best Adapted Screenplay for the movie starring Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike.

Other winners that night include "True Detective". The series written by Nic Pizzolatto took home Best Television Drama. "The Big Bang Theory" by Chuck Lorre and Bill Prady, meanwhile, nabbed a trophy in Best Television Comedy.

The Thursday night event was presented by screenwriting software company Final Draft and hosted by Thomas Lennon and Robert Ben Garant. Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski ("Big Eyes", "The People vs. Larry Flynt", "Ed Wood") were awarded with the Hall of Fame Award.

The Draft Awards also announced winners of Big Break Screenwriting Contest. The full winner list is available on the official site.

  • Best Original Screenplay: "Birdman" - Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Armando Bo
  • Best Adapted Screenplay: "Gone Girl" - Gillian Flynn
  • Best Television Drama: "True Detective" - Nic Pizzolatto
  • Best Television Comedy: "The Big Bang Theory" - Chuck Lorre & Bill Prady

You can share this post!

Related Posts