Tom Fletcher, Harry Judd, Dougie Poynter, and Danny Jones have confirmed they are working on a brand new studio album, ten years after their last one 'Above the Noise'.

AceShowbiz - British pop group McFly have signed their first record deal since 2009 and will release a new studio album later this year (20).

The four-piece, formed in 2003, scored a string of hits before they announced plans to take an extended break following their fifth album, 2010's "Above the Noise".

Last year (19), they were hitting the stage for the one-off "McFly: The Lost Songs" gig at The O2 in London, where they performed a bunch of unreleased songs from past sessions, which were later released on the album "The Lost Songs", and now the boys are heading back into the studio to a selection of brand new tracks.

Speaking to the BBC, singer Tom Fletcher confirmed, "There was a strong possibility McFly would never happen again... We genuinely didn't know how to get back on track."

While Tom, Harry Judd, bassist Dougie Poynter, and guitarist Danny Jones' solo careers drove a wedge between the four-piece, it was their manager of 18 years, Matt Fletcher, who ultimately brought them back together.

"He booked the O2 without telling us and he said, 'Are you going to play it or not?' " Tom recalled. "And we all obviously said yes."

"I think having a date in the diary that said 'McFly at the O2' just made us all realise we'd been stupid."

"That was the start of the next chapter," added Tom.

According to the BBC, the group played four new tracks, which reflected the "jangly positivity of Britpop - in the vein of The Boo Radleys' Wake Up Boo, or Dodgy's Staying Out for the Summer."

A release date for the new album has yet to be announced.

You can share this post!