Bryan Cranston Beats Annette Bening at 2019 New York Drama League Awards
WENN/Joseph Marzullo

The former 'Breaking Bad' star nails the coveted Distinguished Performance Award for his role in 'Network', while 'Hadestown' claims the Outstanding Production of a Musical trophy.

AceShowbiz - Bryan Cranston and hit plays "Hadestown" and "The Ferryman" have emerged as the toast of the 2019 New York Drama League Awards.

"Hadestown", which is the top contender at this year's Tony Awards, was named Outstanding Production of a Musical by Drama League officials, while Sam Mendes' "The Ferryman" was crowned Outstanding Production of a Play.

Outstanding Revival of a Musical went to Scott Ellis' "Kiss Me, Kate", and Kenneth Lonergan won Outstanding Revival of a Play for "The Waverly Gallery".

Meanwhile, Cranston's role in "Network" landed him the coveted Distinguished Performance Award, which actors can only win once during their lifetime. He beat the likes of Jeff Daniels ("To Kill A Mockingbird"), Annette Bening ("All My Sons"), Laurie Metcalf ("Hillary and Clinton"), Jake Gyllenhaal ("Sea Wall/A Life"), and Kerry Washington ("American Son") to claim the prize when the winners were announced at a gala luncheon on Friday, May 17.

The Drama League Awards, which celebrates theatre work on and Off-Broadway, also included accolades for Kelli O'Hara, who received the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre honour, Alex Timbers, who picked up the Founders Award For Excellence in Directing, and writer Taylor Mac, who earned the Unique Contribution to the Theatre prize.

New York Drama League Awards 2019 winners is:

  • Outstanding Production of a Musical: "Hadestown" - Music, Lyrics and Book by Anais Mitchell, Directed by Rachel Chavkin, Walter Kerr Theatre
  • Outstanding Production of a Play: "The Ferryman" - Written by Jez Butterworth, Directed by Sam Mendes, Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre
  • Outstanding Revival of a Musical: "Kiss Me, Kate" - Book by Sam Spewack and Bella Spewack; Music and Lyrics by Cole Porter, Directed by Scott Ellis, Roundabout Theatre Company
  • Outstanding Revival of a Play: "The Waverly Gallery" - Written by Kenneth Lonergan, Directed by Lila Neugebauer, John Golden Theatre
  • Distinguished Performance Award: Bryan Cranston, "Network"
  • Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre: Kelli O'Hara
  • Founders Award For Excellence in Directing: Alex Timbers
  • Unique Contribution to the Theatre: Taylor Mac

You can share this post!

Related Posts