'Spring Breakers', 'To the Wonder' and 'At Any Price' to Compete at Venice Film Festival

'Spring Breakers', 'To the Wonder' and 'At Any Price' to Compete at Venice Film Festival

The Selena Gomez-starring thriller, the Terrence Malick-directed romance, and the Zac Efron-starring drama will join Brian de Palma's 'Passion' in the Competition category of the festival.
The 69th Annual Venice Film Festival has announced its full lineup, revealing 17 feature films that are set to compete for the festival's prestigious Golden Lion award this year. Among the American films which are highlighted in the Competition category are "Spring Breakers", "To the Wonder" and "At Any Price".

Directed by Harmony Korine, "Spring Breakers" has been stealing attention due to its starry cast ensemble that includes popstars Selena Gomez and Vanessa Hudgens, as well as James Franco. "To the Wonder", meanwhile, comes from the hand of acclaimed director Terrence Malick. It's supported by the likes of Ben Affleck, Rachel McAdams, Jessica Chastain, Javier Bardem and Rachel Weisz.

As for "At Any Price", the Ramin Bahrani-directed family drama stars Dennis Quaid and Zac Efron as father and son. Another high-end film which steals the attention in the Competition lineup is a French film by Brian de Palma called "Passion", which stars such actors as Rachel McAdams, Noomi Rapace and Dominic Cooper. Other competitors include movies from Japan, Italy, Israel and Philippines among others.

This year, the festival's lineup has been slimmed in order to make it easier for the audience digestion. "In preparing Venice I have very much admired and envied my friend and colleague who heads the Toronto Film Festival," the festival's artistic director Alberto Barbera explained.

"He has an easy job: He can take 350 movies and therefore accept almost anything. We have chosen a much tougher path, in which, after lots of discussions, we had to say no a lot. And it was very tough."

Scheduled to take place from August 26 to September 8, the 2012 Venice Film Festival will include 50 world premieres. The final selections for this year were made from up to 1,400 movies and 1,700 shorts. Chosen as the opener is Mira Nair's "The Reluctant Fundamentalist", while Jean-Pierre Ameris' "L'homme Qui Rit" is selected to close the annual event.

  • "Something in the Air", Olivier Assayas (France)
  • "At Any Price", Ramin Bahrani (US-UK)
  • "Dormant Beauty", Marco Bellocchio (Italy-France)
  • "La cinquieme saison", Peter Brosens and Jessica Woodworth (Belgium-Netherlands-France)
  • "Fill the Void", Rama Burshtein (Israel)
  • "E Stato Il Figlio", Daniele Cipri (Italy-France)
  • "Un Giorno Speciale", Francesca Comencini (Italy)
  • "Passion", Brian De Palma (France-Germany)
  • "Superstar", Xavier Giannoli (France-Belgium)
  • "Pieta", Kim Ki-duk (South Korea)
  • "Outrage Beyond", Takeshi Kitano (Japan)
  • "Spring Breakers", Harmony Korine (US)
  • "To the Wonder", Terrence Malick (US)
  • "Thy Womb", Brillante Mendoza (Philippines)
  • "Linhas de Wellington", Valeria Sarmiento (Portugal-France)
  • "Paradise: Faith", Ulrich Seidl (Austria-France-Germany)
  • "Betrayal" (Izmena), Kirill Serebrennikov (Russia)
  • "L'homme Qui Rit", Jean-Pierre Ameris (France)
  • "Love Is All You Need", Susanne Bier (Denmark-Sweden)
  • "Cherchez Hortense", Pascal Bonitzer (France)
  • "Sur un Fil", Simon Brook (France-Italy)
  • "Enzo Avitabile Music Life", Jonathan Demme (documentary) (Italy/U.S.)
  • "Tai Chi 0", Stephen Fung (China)
  • "Lullaby to My Father", Amos Gitai (Israel/France)
  • "Penance", Kiyoshi Kurosawa (Japan)
  • "Bad 25", Spike Lee (documentary) (U.S.)
  • "O Gebo e a Sombra", Manoel de Oliveira (Portugal-France)
  • "The Company You Keep", Robert Redford (U.S.)
  • "Shark (Bait 3D)", Kimble Rendall (China)
  • "Disconnect", Henry-Alex Rubin (U.S.)
  • "The Iceman", Ariel Vromen (U.S.)
OUT OF COMPETITION - Special Events:
  • "Anton's Right Here", Lyubov Arkus (documentary) (Russia)
  • "It Was Better Tomorrow", Hinde Boujemaa (documentary) (Italy)
  • "Sfiorando il Muro", Silvia Giralucci and Luca Ricciardi (documentary) (Italy)
  • "Carmel", Amos Gitai (Israel-France-Italy)
  • "El Impenetrable", Daniele Incalcaterra and Fausta Quattrini (documentary) (Argentina-France)
  • "Witness: Libya", Michael Mann (documentary) (U.S.)
  • "Medici con l'Africa", Carlo Mazzacurati (documentary) (Italy)
  • "La Nave Dolce", Daniele Vicari (documentary) (Italy-Albania)
  • "Wadjda", Haifaa Al Mansour (Germany)
  • "The Paternal House", Kianoosh Ayari (Iran)
  • "I Also Want It", Alexey Balabanov (Russia)
  • "Gli equilibristi", Ivano De Matteo (Italy)
  • "L'intervallo", Leonardo Di Costanzo (Italy/Switzerland-Germany)
  • "Winter of Discontent", Ibrahim El Batout (Egypt)
  • "Tango libre", Frederic Fonteyne (Belgium-France-Luxembourg)
  • "The Cutoff Man", Idan Hubel (Israel)
  • "Fly with the Crane", Li Ruijun (China)
  • "A Hijacking", Tobias Lindholm (Denmark)
  • "Leones", Jazmin Lopez (Argentina-France-Netherlands)
  • "Bellas Mariposas", Salvatore Mereu (Italy)
  • "Low Tide", Roberto Minervini (U.S.-Italy-Belgium)
  • "Boxing Day", Bernard Rose (U.K.-U.S.)
  • "Yema", Djamila Sahraoui (Algeria-France)
  • "Araf - Somewhere in Between", Yesim Ustaoglu (Turkey-France-Germany)
  • "The Millennial Rapture", Koji Wakamatsu (Japan)
  • "Three Sisters", Wang Bing (documentary) (France/Hong Kong-China)
  • "Las manos limpias", Carlos Armella (Mexico)
  • "The Flute", Min Bham (Nepal)
  • "O Afinador", Fernando Camargo and Matheus Parizi (Brazil)
  • "Resistente", Renate Costa & Salla Sorri (Denmark-Finland-Paraguay)
  • "La sala", Alessio Giannone (Italy)
  • "Marla", Nick King (Australia)
  • "Miracle Boy", Jake Mahaffy (U.S.)
  • "Living Still Life", Bertrand Mandico (France-Belgium-Germany)
  • "Frank-Etienne vers la beatitude", Constance Meyer (France)
  • "I'm the One", Paola Morabito (Australia)
  • "Luisa no esta en casa", Celia Rico Clavellino (Spain)
  • "Cargo", Carlo Sironi (Italy)
  • "Invitation", Yoo Min-young (South Korea)
  • "Out of Frame", Yorgos Zois (Greece)
  • "Diamond Sutra", Tsai Ming-liang (Chinese Taipei)
  • "L'homme Qui Rit", Jean-Pierre Ameris (France)

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image