No Doubt Biography

  • No Doubt
    • Famous as : Alternative rock group
    • Birth Name : -
    • Birth Date : Early 1987
    • Birth Place : Anaheim, California, USA
    • Spouse : -
    • Claim to Fame : Single "Just a Girl" (1995)

No Doubt Bio, Life Story

No Doubt were actually the project of Gwen Stefani's brother Eric and his friend John Spence who talked about forming a band. Eric asked Gwen to fill in the backing vocal while Eric went behind the keyboard and John took the mic. Describing their music as 2 Tone ska, the group began rehearsing at the Stefanis' garage.

The band accepted a gig at Fender's Ballroom in Long Beach, California in 1987 and Tony Kanal happened to be watching. After a try-out, Kanal joined the group as bassist as well as manager. Several days before the band were due to take the stage at The Roxy Theater to perform for music executives, John committed suicide. The band were devastated, calling it quit only to reform several days later because they thought it would be what John wanted.

Alan Meade was briefly made the vocalist before he was replaced by Gwen herself. It was in 1988 when Tom Dumont left his band and caught No Doubt in rehearsal. He proposed to the band as guitarist, saying he had tons of experience. A year later Adrian Young joined the lots in the drum following Chris Webb's departure. The band were five-strong by 1989.

No Doubt received gigs at local bars, colleges as well as big stages. Their name caught the attention of Tony Ferguson who signed them under newly-minted Interscope Records in 1990. By this time, there were only four of them because trombone player Paul Caseley left the previous year for the US Navy Band. Work began immediately on the first album using early-crafted songs as well as new material.

The self-titled album failed to hit the mark with only 30,000 copies sold. Radio stations refused to play their songs and Interscope refused to support the band's tour. The remaining members began writing for their next album with Matthew Wilder as producer. Eric stepped back from the band since the creative direction was intervened. Interscope lost faith in the band at that time and licensed it to Trauma Records in 1995.

But the downhill journey began to take the opposite direction. They presented rawer sound in their 1995 release "Tragic Kingdom" which sold triple its predecessor. The band scored a gig at the Warp tour and began enjoying commercial success. The single "Just a Girl" became the band's ammo during their 27-month international tour, so did "Spiderwebs" and "Don't Speak".

With the

Continue to page: 2

*/ if ($layoutType == 'mobile') { mb_bottomframe($kanal, $htmlfile, $brstatus); } ?>