Barbra Streisand and Steven Spielberg to Receive Medal of Freedom From President

President Barack Obama will hand out the nation's highest civilian honors in a ceremony at the White House later this month.

AceShowbiz - %cBarbra Streisand% and Steven Spielberg are among 17 Americans to receive the White House's highest civilian honor this year. They will receive the Presidential Medal of Freedom from President Barack Obama in a ceremony on November 24.

Other recipients include singer %cGloria Estefan% and her producer husband Emilio Estefan. They are also joined by fellow musicians Itzhak Perlman and James Taylor, NASA mathematician Katherine G. Johnson, baseball legend Willie Mays, and public servants Bonnie Carroll, Lee Hamilton, Willie Mays, Barbara Mikulski, and William Ruckelshaus.

Posthumous honors go to baseball player Yogi Berra, Shirley Chisholm who became the first African American woman elected to Congress, Indian treaty rights advocate Billy Frank Jr., and human rights leader Minoru Yasui.

Composer Stephen Sondheim will also receive the honor. He was actually named a recipient last year but could not make it to the ceremony so President Obama will hand it out to him this year.

You can share this post!

Related Posts