2011 CMT Music Awards: Sugarland, Justin Bieber, Miranda Lambert Are Early Winners

2011 CMT Music Awards: Sugarland, Justin Bieber, Miranda Lambert Are Early Winners

Sugarland win Duo Video of the Year, Bieber receives Collaborative Video of the Year, and Lambert is honored with Female Video of the Year.
The 10th Annual CMT Music Awards has been officially kicked off when a "Thelma & Louise" parody starring Taylor Swift and Shania Twain was played at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville. Hosted by Kid Rock, the star-studded show began announcing its winner. And the first award of the evening went to Sugarland.

Duo Jennifer Nettles and Kristian Bush won Duo Video of the Year, thanks to their hilarious music video "Stuck Like Glue" which stars "Chuck" actor Ryan McPartlin. They beat Steel Magnolia ("Last Night Again"), The Civil Wars ("Barton Hollow"), The JaneDear Girls ("Wildflower") and Thompson Square ("Are You Gonna Kiss Me or Not").

Jennifer who wore a black little dress with one-off shoulder said this is the most fun awards show. Coming to the stage with Kristian to collect the prize from presenters John Rich and Gary Busey, she also thanked their fans and video director Declan Whitebloom. Fans cheered when the duo retreated backstage.

Next, the shortlist of Video of the Year nominees were announced, including Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Miranda Lambert, Sugarland and Taylor Swift on the battle. Then, Martina McBride and Train's Pat Monahan teamed up to announce the winner for Collaborative Video of the Year.

Justin Bieber won the award, sharing it with his partners from Rascal Flatts and marking his first CMT win. Dressing in a casual outfit with his backwards hat, he said he felt honored to be there and credited his mom, his family and Rascal Flatts for the winning. In response to Bieber's speech, Gary LeVox and his bandmates said they have a Bieber Fever.

The third award of the evening was presented by "Dancing with the Stars" winner Hines Ward and Green Bay Packers' Clay Matthews to Zac Brown Band and Jimmy Buffett. They won Performance of the Year over the likes of Reba McEntire, Darius Rucker and Keith Urban.

Two other early winners were The Band Perry and Miranda Lambert. The former snatched Breakthrough Video of the Year, and the latter got Female Video of the Year. The wife of Blake Shelton who was absent from the show pushed aside Sara Evans, Carrie Underwood, Reba McEntire and Taylor Swift.

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *

  random image