Beyonce Knowles Biography

  • Beyonce Knowles
    • Famous as : R&B singer
    • Birth Name : Beyonce Giselle Knowles
    • Birth Date : September 04, 1981
    • Birth Place : Houston, Texas, USA
    • Spouse : Jay-Z (rapper, since 4-Apr-08)
    • Claim to Fame : Album "Dangerously in Love" (2003)

Beyonce Knowles Bio, Life Story

Beyonce Giselle Knowles born on September 4, 1981 in Houston, Texas is an African-American R&B singer, actress and songwriter in the group Destiny's Child. Her father Matthew Knowles worked as Destiny's Child manager, while her mother Tina Knowles designed the group members glittering costumes. She once attended The High School for the Performing and Visual Arts in Houston, Texas before finally stepping into music business.

Beyonce and her group were discovered by Whitney Houston. During her time in the group, Beyonce was perceived as a leader for her songwriting and producing expertise that led to many hit singles "Jumpin Jumpin", "Bootylicious", "Nasty Girl", "Independent Women", "Happy Face" and "Apple Pie a la mode."

At the beginning of their career, Beyonce, Kelly Rowland, and Michelle Williams (II), toured as an opening act for Christina Aguilera and TLC. Then in 1998, they released their group self-titled album, "Destiny's Child", which was produced by Wyclef Jean and Jermaine Dupri. Its single "No, No, No" peaked at No. 1 and the album itself went platinum.

In 1999, they released a second album "The Writing's on the Wall", featuring two number one hits in "Bills, Bills, Bills" and "Say My Name" that won two awards at the 2001 Grammys for Best R&B Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal and Best R&B Song, the latter of which was awarded to the songwriters, including Beyonce herself.

Following both successful albums, Destiny's Child dropped "Survivor" in 2001. It became another smash, topped both the American Billboard 200 and R&B Albums charts, ruled the Canadian album chart, and generated success around the world. What's more, two singles from the album, namely "Independent Women (Part 1)" and "Bootylicious", went to the top of the Billboard Hot 100.

On top of that, "Independent Women (Part 1)" became the theme song for "Charlie's Angels" in late 2000. Its title track "Survivor" gloriously won the band their second Grammy for Best R&B Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal.

Despite their soaring success, Destiny's Child decided to take a break to pursue solo careers. But they returned in 2004 to produce two new albums. The first album entitled "Destiny Fulfilled" and its first single "Lose My Breath" both reached the top 10 Billboard album and singles charts respectively.

Along with the group success, Beyonce's solo career also rose up. She won the Songwriter of the Year award from the ASCAP

Continue to page: 2

*/ if ($layoutType == 'mobile') { mb_bottomframe($kanal, $htmlfile, $brstatus); } ?>