'12 Years a Slave' Leads 2014 Indie Spirit Awards With Seven Nominations

'12 Years a Slave' Leads 2014 Indie Spirit Awards With Seven Nominations

The Steve McQueen drama bags coveted nominations in categories Best Feature, Best Director, Best Screenplay and Best Cinematography, as well as gets nods for actors.

Nominees for 2014 Independent Spirit Awards have been revealed. True-story period drama "12 Years a slave" dominates the pack with seven nods, followed by "Nebraska" with six, "All Is Lost" with four four, and "Inside Llewyn Davis", "Short Term 12", "Fruitvale Station" and "Blue Jasmine" with three each.

"12 Years a Slave" is vying for the top Best Feature honor. It also helps Steve McQueen get nominated for Best Director, John Ridley for Best Screenplay, Sean Bobbit for Best Cinematography, and Chiwetel Ejiofor, Lupita Nyong'o and Michael Fassbender for Best Male Lead, Best Supporting Female and Best Supporting Male respectively.

"Nebraska" is up for Best Feature as well, facing off the big screen adaptation of Solomon Northup's autobiography along with "All Is Lost", "Inside Llewyn Davis" and "Frances Ha". The other nods are for director Alexander Payne, male lead Bruce Dern, supporting female June Squibb, and supporting male Will Forte.

Bob Nelson's screenwriting debut on Payne's dramedy puts him in contention for Best First Screenplay. Nelson is pitted against Lake Bell ("In a World..."), Joseph Gordon-Levitt ("Don Jon"), Jill Soloway ("Afternoon Delight"), and Michael Starrbury ("The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete").

Best Female Lead sees stiff competition among Cate Blanchett ("Blue Jasmine"), Julie Delpy ("Before Midnight"), Gaby Hoffmann ("Crystal Fairy"), Brie Larson ("Short Term 12"), and Shailene Woodley ("The Spectacular Now").

Meanwhile, Oscar Isaac ("Inside Llewyn Davis"), Michael B. Jordan ("Fruitvale Station"), Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club" ), and Robert Redford ("All Is Lost") complete the Best Male Lead list.

The nominees were announced by Octavia Spencer and Paula Patton at The W Hollywood. The winners will be revealed on March 1, 2014, the day before Academy Awards, in Santa Monica with Patton Oswalt as a host.

Best Feature:

Best Director: Best Screenplay: Best Female Lead: Best Male Lead: Best Supporting Female: Best Supporting Male: Best First Feature: Best First Screenplay: John Cassavetes Award:
  • "Computer Chess"
  • "Crystal Fairy"
  • "Museum Hours"
  • "Pit Stop"
  • "This Is Martin Bonner"
Best Cinematography: Best Editing: Best Documentary: Best International Film: Robert Altman Award (given to a film's director, casting director and ensemble cast): "Mud"

Piaget Producers Award:
  • Toby Halbrooks & James M. Johnston
  • Jacob Jaffke
  • Andrea Roa
  • Frederick Thornton
Someone to Watch Award:
  • Aaron Douglas Johnston - "My Sister's Quinceanera"
  • Shake King - "Newlyweeds"
  • Madeline Olnek - "The Foxy Merkins"
Truer Than Fiction Award:
  • "A River Changes Course" Kalvanee Mam
  • "Let the Fire Burn" Jason Osder
  • "Manakamana" Stephanie Spray & Pacho Velez

© AceShowbiz.com


Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked with *



  1. Is Caitlyn Jenner Re-Transitioning Back to Bruce?
  2. Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt May Lose Custody of Maddox and Pax
  3. Mariah Carey Exposes Her Private Part as She Goes Commando in Short Dress
  4. Kendall Jenner Isn't Happy About That Rolls-Royce for Her Birthday? Here's Why
  5. Katie Holmes 'Is Freaking Out' After Tom Cruise Secretly Reconnects With Daughter Suri
  6. Rihanna Mingles With Akon as She and Drake Avoid Each Other in Abu Dhabi
  7. J.Lo and Marc Anthony Rekindle Romance? Exes Reportedly Set New Wedding Date
  8. Brad Pitt Getting Close and Having 'Secret Meet-Ups' With Kate Hudson Amid Angelina Jolie Divorce
  9. Brad Pitt Is 'Angry' After Angelina Jolie Canceled Thanksgiving Visit With Their Children
  10. Kim Kardashian Is Upset Jay-Z and Beyonce Haven't Called in Since Kanye's Hospitalization