Johnny Was (2006)

  • Johnny Was
    • Genre : Action, Drama, Thriller
    • Release Date :
    • MPAA Rating : R
    • Duration : -
    • Production Budget : -
    • Studio : First Look Home Entertainment
    • Official Site : -
    • Reviews Rate
      N/A

    • Readers Rate
      4 of 5

Cast and Crew

  • Director Mark Hammond
  • Producer Ira Besserman, Patrick J. FitzSymons, Brendan Foley, Lars Hermann, Paul Largan, Tom Maguire
  • Screenwriter Brendan Foley
  • Starring
    • Vinnie Jones as Johnny Doyle,
    • Patrick Bergin,
    • Eriq La Salle,
    • Samantha Mumba as Rita,
    • Lennox Lewis,
    • Roger Daltrey,
    • Laurence Kinlan,
    • Wilson Jermaine Heredia,
    • Mark Asante

Synopsis

Johnny Doyle escapes a violent past in Ireland to lie low in London, until his former mentor Flynn breaks out of Brixton Prison, hell bent on derailing the Irish peace process with a few well-placed bombs. Unable to escape Brixton, they are trapped together in Johnny's anything-but-safe safe house, sandwiched between a Rastafarian reggae pirate radio station upstairs and a West Indian `Yardie' crack-dealing gangster, Julius, downstairs. As the charismatic Flynn finds common ground with the Yardies, Johnny fights to realize a peace process of his own, but makes the mistake of falling for Julius's girlfriend Rita, causing all-out war. A thriller in the vein of Lock Stock and The Long Good Friday, in which questions of race, morality, identity and loyalty play out against a great sound-track of reggae, rock, new wave and soul.


Johnny Was Pictures and Stills

Rate This Movie

   

LATEST NEWS

MORE FROM NEWS

DON'T MISS

MORE FROM NEWS
if ($layoutType == 'mobile') { mb_bottomframe($kanal, $htmlfile, $brstatus); } ?>